Bombay Bicycle Club - Flaws [CD]

  • Sale
  • Regular price £7.98

Brand Spanking New From Reputable UK Company With 30 Years Experience In Retail, Please Note Not All Our New Items Are Shrink Wrapped.
All items shipped within 3 working days of payment.
Please note that all our DVDs are Region 2.

Please note that not all audio CDs are shrink-wrapped fom the factory.

Flaws is the stunningly beautiful, new acoustic album by Bombay Bicycle Club. Having finished recording their debut LP I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose in February 2009, the band went straight back into the studio (The Church, Crouch End) days after they submitted the master for I Had The Blues, and started the initial recordings for this album. \r
Recorded in between touring over the past year and a half, a few early tracks were laid down at The Church and produced by Neill MacColl (guitarist Jamie's Dad), but the rest was recorded in singer, Jack Steadman's bedroom and produced by Jack himself.\r
Flaws is characterised by a delicate, heart-swelling beauty and lightness of touch throughout. Those that had BBC pegged merely as an indie band may need to re-think.\r
This more stripped down, acoustic sound - though markedly different from the majority of their debut - isn't new for the band, as almost every single they\u2019ve released since their earliest days has been accompanied by an acoustic b-side. \r
Jack describes his Dad playing him Harry Smith's Anthology of American Folk Music for the first time as a \u201chuge moment\u201d. Similarly, delving into his Dad\u2019s record collection introduced him to the likes of Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, John Martyn and Nick Drake. \r
Intricate, finger-picked guitar lines and ethereal melodies pull at the heart strings on new songs such as My God, the startlingly pretty Leaving Blues and title track Flaws (a duet with Lucy Rose).\r
On other tracks \u2013 Rinse Me Down and Many Ways - skittering drum rhythms and distant banjo lines drift in, but in the main, it\u2019s a naked intimacy that makes these songs dazzle. The album\u2019s final track, Swansea, is perhaps the most exciting in terms of where BBC will take their sound next. All the music for Swansea was written by Jack, but uses some of the lyrics from a Joanna Newsom track of the same name. A simple folk ballad that opens with plaintive guitar and vocals, swells and morphs into something altogether different, as a synth counter melody slowly floats into reverb-rich vocals and echo chamber drum rhythms. \r
Having been crowned \u201cBest New Band\u201d at the NME awards in February, Flaws \u2013 released almost exactly a year after their debut - looks set to book end a fantastic year for BBC. BBC play Radio 1\u2019s Big Weekend in May, followed by a July acoustic tour of churches and art centres and all major UK festivals throughout the summer.\r

1. Rinse Me Down

2. Many Ways

3. Dust On The Ground

4. Ivy and Gold

5. Leaving Blues

6. Fairytale Lullaby

7. Word By Word

8. Jewel

9. My God

10. Flaws

11. Swansea

// Added for search by type // Added for search by type